Second Contest Results…

Hello! Thanks to all who have participated in last month’s contest and I hope more will enter this month’s contest. I mean it is a Free game on the line after all…I would participate if it wasn’t my own contest! 

Once again the contest was titled VS. Two characters from two different games in battle with one another! 

Ok on with the entries.  

This is an illustration from last month’s contest winner entry SangheiliArtist.  

Here we have Samus Aran from Metroid going against good ‘ol Master Chief from the Halo Series. This would be a good battle!  

Click me to see the battle unfold! 

The Second entry was from GarfunkelTheApostle.

In this illustration we have Cloud from the ever popular Final Fantasy VII versus Bowyer. Who the heck is Bowyer? He was a boss in Super Mario RPG from the SNES (back in the day!!!) Talk about two unlikely characters meeting up! 

The third entry was from the being known as Kalel06.  Some say he was raised on a farm in Kansas by Martha and Jonathan Kent. I don’t know, but he does live in Metropolis! 

In the left corner weighing in at about 98 pounds we have the beautiful, but deadly Nariko from Heavenly Sword!  In the right corner, starting the ring on fire, weighing in at 235 pounds is Kratos from the God of War series. Let’s get it on! Ding! Ding! Ding!

The fourth entry was from Anasazinyx.

Here we have a spore creature from the game Spore VS Ragnaros from World of Warcraft. My money is on the Spore creature. Watch out for the little guys!  Hey four small ghostbusters took down the Giant Stay Puft Marsh Mellow Man!  

The fifth contestant was from the talented greenbeanbaby.

Here are two characters that look like they are having more fun together than actually battling!!!  I guess some people love fighting! We have Toadette from the Mario Universe and a character from Little Big Planet on the PS3!  

The last illustration submitted didn’t quite follow all the guidelines.  It was one character from a Video game…and the other character…from well who knows. It can’t be considered for the contest but I wanted to show it anyways! Remember read the rules! It could cost you a game! Thanks Eric for the piece! 

From the crazy mind of the digitalsnowmen.

We have a Mutant Pug Named Shiela vs a ODST Soldier from Halo 3. So bizarre, strange, yet I can’t stop looking at it!

Thanks to all who have made a submission to the second contest! Well who wins??

I will let the you guys and gals help me to decide! One vote per email is allowed. Voting closes Friday 9/5/2008 11:59 pm. When leaving a comment simply say who are voting for! Remember Pug vs ODST can’t count! (Sorry digitalsnowmen!)  I will make the final decision, but hearing from others will help! 

Moving on to this month’s Contest! 

September’s Contest is called Villains! Draw, paint, sketch, vector, or illustrate your favorite villain from any video game past or present! Due September 30th!

38 Responses to “Second Contest Results…”


  1. 1 greenbeanbaby September 2, 2008 at 2:35 am

    boy, what a hard decision!!! i am diggin’ kalel’s for color and composition… his perspective is pretty darn accurate too [isn’t this how you and i fight, babe?! haha JUST KIDDING!]and i do like the guy who won the last contest- AMAZING detail!!!! and the background suits the two characters… i like the garfunkel for his choice of characters- unique and an unlikely pair…. very cool!!!! i am digging anasazinyx for choice of character too plus all the detailed linework… i like how the characters are facing….

    yup tough decision- they are all wonderful for various reasons… can’t wait to see the winner this month! and its nice that you actually give out a game as promised!! 😉

  2. 2 Dre@... September 2, 2008 at 9:43 am

    You know I have to root for my babe, Kalel06……so much hard work and it looks amazing! Now, if only I could get him to put that much effort into something for the house……Gamersdigart, that should be your next contest, home art! LOL.

  3. 3 5hu September 2, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    hmm, I think I’ll pick SangheiliArtist.

    I love Nintendo and I love to play Halo, and I also like the unique coloring, detail, and background, it gives a certain feel to it. Plus I’d like to see these two duke it out sometime, haha.

  4. 4 Kayla September 2, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    I totally take the Sangheiliartist! Dude! Samus Aran vs. Master Chief is so kickass! Master Chief would totally win though. Just saying lol. Anyway, the clouds and the sunset are painted PERFECTLY! It’s so pretty! 😮
    You can also tell that this person has a very detailed imagination, and is exhiborantly in for a sci-fi file.

  5. 5 James September 2, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    SangeiliArtist’s piece for the win!! The background is painted beutifully, and it gives it an interesting setting that is believable for either series. Not only would a fight between Samus Aran and Master Chief be epic, it would be a fair fight, and looking at this piece makes me believe it won’t be a short battle. The colors contrast wonderfully, and the details are stunning, I love how you placed Master Chief in his stance from the Halo 2 cover!

    I could keep going on about all the things I love about it, but no-one wants to read all the stuff I write, so I will sum up my thoughts…This work of art is truly stunning, a feast for the eyes.

  6. 6 BLster September 2, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    have to say..its a hard to pick only one..but sangehiliartist its comprehension of colors are perfect, the person who made it has a grand imagination..plus samus aran and Master Chief…just a perfect fight…of Corse Samus Aran with her charge beams and powerfull armor would totally take down Master Chief before he could even break Samus’s armor ha ha, plus how samus looks like she bout to put a wieling on Master chief is pretty exceilent, i am a huge fan of them both and it is very well done, very good colors put into it and every,well done 🙂

  7. 7 sP September 2, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    well.. im no gamer.. and im no artist… but.. if i had to choose, i’d have to say that kalel06 takes it all the way.. very well detailed, and very well proportioned, also, an interesting angle, and vibrant choice of colors… not to mention that the lighting is very realistic.

    now, sangheiliartist’s attempt was great. but i feel that the composotion is very simple.. it lacks depth and has no point of interest.. it seems as thought the foreground and background are blending in, and there is just tooo much going on in the piece.. also, the characters seem “posed” and not as if they’re actually engaging in battle.. the use of colors is interesting, but it lacks definition.

    -sP

  8. 8 jefftheworld September 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Dude, that first one rocks.

    I’d have to say Samus would win. If only because her suit is far more advanced.

  9. 9 jefftheworld September 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    So yeah, my vote is for the first one.

  10. 10 Tyson September 2, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    first one def

  11. 11 Akeru September 2, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I’m going for SangheiliArtist.

    The colors are crazy awesome, as is the detail. That would be an epic battle. I dunno how he does backgrounds like he does, but they’re always amazing.

    Big fan of Halo and Metroid also. I dunno who would win! There’s a lot of variables to consider.

  12. 12 Choppa September 2, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    SangheiliArtist ftw.

  13. 13 Crownjo September 3, 2008 at 12:32 am

    SangheiliArtist. is very detailed. I am amazed on how good his artwork is. I hope he wins. he deserves it.

  14. 14 Nina September 3, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I vote for greenbeanbaby!!!!!I love her art♥

  15. 15 RayZR September 3, 2008 at 5:45 am

    I’ll have to go for Kalel06 here. The sheer amount of effort here is just breath-taking. I concede that SangheiliArtist puts up a great fight, and Samus looks great. But the Master Chief appears to be a slightly disproportionate copy of some official Bungie concept art. Sorry, that loses my vote.

    To be fair, Kalel06 may have copied his artwork too, but I know Halo concept art better than I know Heavenly Sword or God of War concept art, so he’s fooled me. ^_^

  16. 16 ninox September 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I vote for greenbeanbaby as well, Other than that I would pick my own 😛

  17. 17 Steve McAwesome September 3, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Anasazinyx wins. Hands down.

  18. 18 Ashrunner September 3, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Definitely like Anasazinyx best. A winner for sure. 8v)

  19. 19 Philip September 3, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Anasazinyx definitely… that spore creature is going to go on a rampage though… someone better take it out soon…

  20. 20 rooter September 3, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I did Ragnaros.

    WoW FTW!

  21. 21 The Queen of Spades September 3, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Anasazinyx ftw!

    I don’t trust that little guy…

  22. 22 Jason September 3, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Anasazinyx: Thats way cool. My Vote.

  23. 23 Aliantha September 3, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Gotta go with greenbeanbaby’s Toadette and LBP duel. Very cute and a unique POV.

    Digital’s is pretty mesmerizing; too bad he didn’t follow the directions. 😀

    (Didn’t sanghelli win LAST time? I’m confused…)

  24. 24 Thipp September 3, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Anasazinyx. Spore will be the best game ever.

  25. 25 xeyr September 4, 2008 at 6:19 am

    As someone who just logged out of WoW to play Spore … Anasazinyx has to take the prize …

  26. 26 rooter September 4, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I mean, I diG Ragnaros! I couldn’t do that myself!

  27. 28 seansense September 4, 2008 at 11:20 am

    totally anasazinyx! socute ^_^

  28. 29 Amanda September 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    THIS drawing is super good!! love it!!

  29. 30 Amanda September 4, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    i vote for the first one

  30. 31 Tyler September 4, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I vote SangheiliArtists.

  31. 32 Michael September 4, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I vote for the first one.

  32. 33 TsnSai September 4, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    I love the first one, so much detail and pretty colors~.
    I have to say I like it more then the other ones.

  33. 34 Charu September 4, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I’m going to have to go with SangheiliArtist. The composition and detail is a lot to be admired. It’s very much eye candy, and that’s what I like. You’re able to look at it, and your eye just travels everywhere making you look at everything within.

    Kalel06’s piece came second for me. This person also had a lovely composition going and it’s also eye candy. Though it doesn’t have that charm that SangheilieArtist’s piece does have.

  34. 35 SanTsuki September 4, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    i like the first one. ^^ so pretty.

  35. 36 Sarah September 4, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I’m voting for the first one!

    For me it stands out with the awesome use of colors, lovely background and MASTER CHIEF! Gotta love pictures with halo-related things.

  36. 37 gamersdigart September 4, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Whoa…lotta comments so far…glad to see everyone getting support from their friends! One more day and I will announce the winner!

  37. 38 beth September 7, 2008 at 6:05 am

    Anasazinyx for sure!


Comments are currently closed.




