Meet Chase-SC2!!!

leaves_by_chase_sc2

When are leaves more than just leaves?  There is a lot of discussion about traditional art and it’s place in the modern world of digital arts.  My personal belief is that without a basic understanding of traditional mediums, you will be limited as a digital artist.  Take this artist for instance…~Chase-SC2 he has some amazing traditional rendering skills and it carries over into his traditional work as well.

string_by_chase_sc2

Hey Chase, could you start off with a brief bio about yourself? This could be your
name, age, what you do besides art, if you are an artist by trade (full
time job) or not. Anything really so the readers can know a little
more about you.

My name is Chase Stone, I’m a 19 year old student majoring in
illustration at the Fashion Institute of Technology. I don’t have a job
in the industry yet but i think I’m getting there, and thanks a lot for
your interest in my gallery!

ghost_riders_in_the_sky_by_chase_sc2

Looking through your gallery, you have some killer pieces left and
right. But the ones that stand out to me are your simple ones. Your
color pencils of the string, the leaf, etc. How important is
traditional art in the growing digital work place?

I think traditional art is still very important in the growing digital
work place, as the skills one has on paper translate directly to their
skills in photoshop. While the computer has made the process faster in
a lot of ways, and does make some things easier, you still have to be
able to draw and that’s the bottom line.

the_hunt_by_chase_sc2

What is your background in art (education/training etc.)

I’ve been drawing all my life, and most of what I’ve learned over the
years has come from practice and trial and error. I’ve gotten
professional training in the past year at FIT, but i still believe that
practice in your own time is the most important way to improve.

link_by_chase_sc2

Where do you draw your inspiration from as an artist? What keeps you
going to improve and keep your attention to realism so high?

Working artists like Craig Mullins are always great for inspiration,
guys whose work just really blows you away. I guess that’s the main
thing that drives me (and I’m sure most other artists), the want to
create an image that really floors people and sticks with you. To make
something on that level is always something o aspire to. As for
realism, it’s really just what appeals to me the most.

insurgency_bg_by_chase_sc2

What video game systems do you own if any? What are you currently playing?

I own an Xbox 360, and as of now my favorite games would be Halo, Call of Duty 4, and Gears of War.

spengebab_by_chase_sc2

Who are some artist that you look up to? Also name your top 3 artist.

Like i said I’m a big fan of Craig Mullins’ work (whose stuff is just
plain awesome), I also like Justin Sweet (he’s got a really nice style)
and James Hawkins (does amazing concept art, a field I hope to get into
in the future).

odst

Your level of realism in your art is amazing. How important is
reference to you when working on art. How much time do you give an
illustration before it is time to move on? (How long did it take you to
finish your slick Halo piece) (side note: nothing wrong with fan art!!
Make more halo art!!!)

Thanks man! I think reference is very very important. the simpler
pieces in my gallery are all done from life, and for the more
imaginative ones i try to get as much reference material as possible.
As for time, I’ll basically try to work on something as long as i can
until I’m either totally satisfied, loose interest, or simply run out
of time. I don’t know how long the halo piece took exactly, but i know
it took a while, working on it on and off over the course of a few
months. And hahah thanks man, I’d like to draw more stuff from Halo,
once i get some more original stuff done maybe I’ll go back to it!

elite_by_chase_sc2

(Holy Flippin’ batman…crazy sick skillz on display… only 19 years old…)

If you weren’t an artist what would you do to fill your time in the day that you use for art right now?

If i couldn’t draw i don’t really know what I’d do, I guess I’d find
something else I’m good at and work at that…In the big picture if i
couldn’t make art I probably would’ve joined the army hahah!

insurgency_by_chase_sc2

Are there any projects/companies (film, music, comics, video games) that you wish you could work with TODAY?

Hmmm if i could just pick, working for Ubisoft, Bungie, Weta, Epic
Games, and any of the projects they’re working on would be awesome.

sum_sci_fi_by_chase_sc2

First video game experience ever? Favorite game ever?

I’m pretty sure my first video game experience ever was on the NES, and
I think it was Super Mario Bros. As for my favorite game of all
time…thats a tough one, i want to say Halo but theres a certain
nostalgia about the N64 Zelda that i think gets my vote.

the_witcher_by_chase_sc2

Thank you again for your time!

Thanks again for offering this interview man i hope i answered with enough information.

Awesome interview Chase and fantastic artwork! Many thanks bro and good luck in school!

11 Responses to “Meet Chase-SC2!!!”


  1. 1 kalel06 November 5, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Incredible work. You were right, Mel, this totally blew me away.
    That Halo piece is sick.

  2. 2 greenbeanbaby November 5, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    wow!! amazing art and sooo young!!!!

  3. 3 squeak117 November 6, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Every single one of these pieces is just absolutely astounding. I almost can’t believe my eyes.

    I don’t see how there’s any way you won’t get a job with material such as this. Keep up the amazing work, Chase!

  4. 4 GrouchKar November 6, 2008 at 9:57 am

    He has some great work. I am even more proud that he goes to the school that I went too.

  5. 5 lukedenby November 6, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Seriously, that string is crazy good.

  6. 6 Andy November 9, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Wow!! he is Awesome realistic artist!! 😄

  7. 7 Chase November 11, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Thanks again for the support man it means a lot, and thanks for the comments everyone!

  8. 8 RD0ZEN12 November 11, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Chase, you are and truely blessed and such a wonderful and talented artist. I can just imagine how successful you will be a few years from now, and I hope that you will be greatly rewarded for all you hard work in the longrun! 🙂

  9. 9 Vjosa May 20, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    wow Chase, you truly are an amazing and talented artist who will acheive great goals in the future..i mean, you already are!

  10. 10 Lexinator June 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    WOW I thought I was good, I’m alright but this is insane man, um, I was wondering… especialy on the halo piece, how did you get such great colors and tints and stuff, because im pretty good with a pencil, but my art lacks a lot of color, it all grey, lol, so I was wondering if you could give me feedback on your coloring, is it paint, or photoshop or some other technique?


Leave a Reply

